N.C. Sports Hall Of Fame To Induct Thompson

by admin
0 comment
Raleigh, North Carolina – Rosie Thompson was East Carolina’s only women’s basketball player to see her number retired, was the program’s all-time leading scorer and rebounder, coached the team, and later managed the track and field division. Inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame as part of the 2023 class.

This venerable group will be honored at the 59th Annual Hall of Fame Celebration on Friday night, April 21, at 7:00 p.m. at the Raleigh Convention Center.

This year’s other honorees are listed in alphabetical order and include Rick Burns, Jason Brown, Jeff Davis, Donald Evans, Tom Fazio, Ellen Griffin, Tom Higgins, Clarkston Hines and Bob Stone. Wall Jackson, Trudy Lacey, Ronald Rogers, John Sudley, Jerry Stackhouse. , Curtis Strange, Thompson. Their planned induction brings the total number of Hall of Fame inductees to his 400.

Thompson was inducted into the ECU Hall of Fame in 1990 for his work at Hardwood, and topped the Pirates all-time list for points (2,352), points per game (20.8), rebounds (1,183), and rebounds per game (10.8). surpassed. ), the average double-double for her career from 1976 to 1980.

On February 9, 1980, during her senior year, East Carolina hosted a “Rosie Thompson Night” in a game against George Mason, officially retiring Thompson’s number 10 jersey. At the event, North Carolina Governor Jim Hunt, Senators Jesse Helms, and Senators Robert Morgan read her citation.

A four-time All-NCAIAW winner and one-time NCAIAW Player of the Year, Thompson joined the ECU staff as an assistant in 1987 and was named the team’s head coach in 1992. She was the head coach of women’s basketball. From 1992 until the spring of 1995 she resigned and she became the Senior Female Manager (SWA) of ECU. Thompson retired at the end of 2014 after a nearly 40-year relationship with the university.

Thompson joined fellow Pirates Ronnie Barnes (ECU Hall of Famer), Charlie Adams (ECU Hall of Famer), Carlester Crumpler (ECU Hall of Famer, current staff), Paul Gay (ECU Hall of Famer), Bobby Hodges ( ECU Hall of Fame), Terry Holland (Former ECU Athletic Director), Leora “Sam” Jones (ECU Hall of Fame), Dr. Jerry McGee (ECU Distinguished Alumnus), Jerry McGee (Former ECU Head Coach), Earl Smith (ECU Hall of Fame) ), Clarence Stasavich (ECU Hall of Famer), Jerry Tolley (ECU Hall of Famer), Henry Trevathan (ECU Alumni, former ECU Assistant Coach), Caulton Tudor (ECU Alumni), George Whitfield (ECU Alumni, former ECU Assistant Coach) Kay Yo (alumnus) as a member of the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame.

Banquet ticket information available at the store https://www.ncshof.org/ Or dial (919) 845-3455.

You may also like

Leave a Comment